a2z Scrapbooking Supplies

A Hero Arts Retailer

Just Breathe Plaid and Denim

4 Comments

Hi, Angie here with another card to hopefully inspire you to join the “watercolor” challenge over at a2zscrapbooking blog!  April is almost over but you still have a little time left to join in the fun!

Click here to see the details and add your creation!

I used watercolor paper to ink with Chipped Sapphire Distress Ink.  I put it on direct to paper and even added more with a dauber to get it really dark.  Then I heat embossed in HA clear powder, leaves stamps from HA You’re So Lovely set.  After heat embossing them, I added water with a paint brush and then wiped off the excess.  (This is the Distress Ink Lifting method with water that Jennifer McGuire recently showed on her blog.)  It lightened up the background and left the leaves really dark.  I think it made the background look like blue jeans or denim!

I cut the HA Swallowtail Fancy Butterfly from plaid patterned paper and inked it with the same Distress Ink, then added Wink of Stella on the top.  I used my Misti to stamp the sentiment in Versamark Ink and used HA white embossing powder to heat emboss the sentiment “Just Breathe” from the HA Hello Gorgeous set.  The background is more plaid paper that I inked the edges of to match.  I die cut the watercolor panel with a scalloped die before adhering it to the plaid paper, then the white card base.  Lastly I added some fun black pearl gems from Hero Arts!

My list of supplies is below:

If you need craft items that you don’t see in the store, don’t forget you can special order them here at the A2ZScrapbooking Store.

You can use the code Angie15 to receive a discount of 15% off your total order of $25 or more excluding shipping.

Here are a few more views.  It looks different from each angle!

4 thoughts on “Just Breathe Plaid and Denim

  1. Like I said I am ‘oohing’ and ‘ahhing’ over this beautiful card!! Well done Angie!!

  2. Fabulous card! And yes, it does look like denim!

  3. I’ve never used this technique. Stunning.

Thanks for taking the time to comment...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.